Sexual Rights

The World Association of Sexual Health (WAS) Declaration of Sexual Rights

The World Association of Sexual Health (WAS) is the international peak body for sexual health (and includes sexology and psychosexual therapy). The World Association of Sexual Health adopted this Declaration of Sexual Rights in Hong Kong at the 14th World Congress of Sexology, on August 26, 1999.

  1. The right to sexual freedom.
  2. The right to sexual autonomy, sexual integrity, and safety of the sexual body.
  3. The right to sexual privacy.
  4. The right to sexual equity.
  5. The right to sexual pleasure.
  6. The right to emotional sexual expression.
  7. The right to sexually associate freely.
  8. The right to make free and responsible reproductive choices.
  9. The right to sexual information based upon scientific inquiry.
  10. The right to comprehensive sexuality education.
  11. The right to sexual health care.